St Michael’s and All Angels’ is 60 this year!
To celebrate 60 years as the parish church of Paulsgrove, we have launched a photo competition Capturing Paulsgrove – asking for up to four photos taken anytime in 2017 that captures just what Paulsgrove means to you. photo competition
1957 – Present
St Michaels and All Angels was formally constituted as an ecclesiastical parish of the Church of England in the Diocese of Portsmouth when the parish church was consecrated in July 1957.
Our church is brick-built, in a Neo Georgian style circa 1957, architect Thomas Ford. It stands on the slopes of Portsdown Hill, overlooking a green and enjoys some stunning views of the city of Portsmouth. It has the benefit of a small garden enclosed within iron railings and full length windows which offer shafts of light into the main church on sunny days.
The church has a Makin organ, regularly played by our resident Director of Music.
The Lady Chapel at the eastern end of the church sits behind the high altar and benefits from a stunning stained glass window.
On the southern side of the church is the Saint Stephen’s chapel.
The Bell tower at the south-eastern end houses a bell that is reputed to be Norman.
One of the most striking features is an original Hans Feibusch painting of the Temptation of Christ on the end wall behind the altar. Above the altar on the ceiling is another Feibusch painting of angels, the pews date from the 17th Century, donated by Saint Edmund King and Martyr church in London.
These all make for an interesting blend of traditional and modern approaches.